Calder Valley


Javed Bashir

Javed Bashir

Josh Fenton Glynn

Josh Fenton-Glynn (Lab)

Richard Phillips

Richard Phillips
(The Liberal Party)

Craig Whittaker

Craig Whittaker (Cons)

General Election 2019

Craig Whittaker (Cons) 29981
Josh Fenton-Glynn (Lab) 24207
Javed Bashir (LD) 2884
Richard Phillips (Lib) 721
Tories increase majority by 5000.

HebWeb Discussion:
What are the Liberal Democrats for?
General Election

Jeremy Corbyn in Mytholmroyd

Jeremy Corbyn welcomed in Mytholmroyd, Saturday, 30 November 2019. Click photo to enlarge.

Calder Valley candidates for the 12 Dec General Election are Javed Bashir (Lib-Dem), Josh Fenton-Glynn (Lab), Richard Phillips (The Liberal Party) and Craig Whittaker (Cons). The Greens are not standing and have told the Hebweb they will be giving their support to Labour. Similarly, the Brexit Party are giving their support to the Tories. (14 Nov)

Info for the General Election - about registration, postal votes and proxy votes. Register now to ensure your vote!


Tuesday, 29 October 2019 - with the call for a December General Election going through Parliament, the HebWeb is reviving it's General Election site here at

Register to vote now To vote in any election in the UK you must be on the electoral register. Register to vote now - you have until Tuesday 26 November.

Debate: use our HebWeb Forum.

June 2017 Election

Craig Whittaker won Calder Valley for the Conservatives in June 2017, winning by 609 votes, with a majority reduced by 90% since the 2015 election.

Labour's Holly Lynch held her Halifax seat, increasing her majority from just 428 in 2015 to over 5000 in 2017.


Hustings: were held on Monday, 25 November at Hope Baptist Church. In the above photo from Lucy Cartwright are the three candidates who attended - Craig Whittaker failed to make it.

The next one will be on Wednesday, 27 November at Brooksbank School. See HebWeb News item

Climate hustings

Brexit and the Climate Emergency With Natalie Bennett, former Leader of the Green Party and Josh Fenton−Glynn, Labour Party PPC Calder Valley. Public meeting at 7.30pm, Tuesday, 26 Nov at Hebden Bridge Town Hall.

Help for homeless to register to vote! - More info - 16 Nov

Calder Valley Green Party to back Labour The Green Party in the Calder Valley today told the HebWeb that it will be recommending a vote for the Labour Party Candidate, Josh Fenton Glynn, in the next general election. More info (30 Oct)

Watch this space as we develop this election website to provide details of candidates, links and news related to the 2019 General as it affects the Calder Valley constituency.

Previous general elections on the HebWeb

For much of the 1980s and 1990s, Donald Thompson held Calder Valley for the Tories.

Labour's Christine McCafferty took the seat in 1997 and held it until 2010 when she retired.

Craig Whittaker won for the Tories in 2010 and won again in 2015 and 2017.

2017 General Election website

2015 General Election

2010 General Election

2005 General Election

2001 General Election

1997 General Election - hardly anyone was at this time using the Internet for political coverage and discussion. The HebWeb was among the first websites to do this. We wrote: "The Hebden Bridge Web invites you to join its experiment in online democracy."